Retired Navy Shooters Association

The Retired Navy Shooters Association is an organization of Navy shooters that is affiliated with the National Rifle Association.

The object of the Association is the encouragement of organized rifle and pistol shooting among its members, with a view toward a better knowledge on the part of such members of the safe handling and proper care of firearms, as well as improved marksmanship. This may be demonstrated in the fielding of competitive teams within the restrictions of Rule 2.11, National Rifle Association Rifle and Pistol Rules. It is the further object and purpose to forward the development of those characteristics of honesty, good fellowship, self-discipline, team play and self-reliance which are the essentials of good sportsmanship and the foundation of true patriotism.

There are three types of membership in the Association: Regular, Associate and Honorary:

Regular: Any retired member of the regular military forces or military reserves (whether drawing retired pay or not) who has had an association with the Navy or Navy Reserve shooting program, whether as a designated member of a previous team (either firing or alternate), having served as a coach, coordinator, or assistant who has materially assisted with the conduct of Fleet or All-Navy matches, or is designated a Navy Distinguished Marksman or Pistol Shot, or holds Excellence-in-Competition points towards such designation, may become a Regular member of this organization on vote of the Executive Committee after subscribing to the following pledge and on payment of the usual initiation fee and dues. Members of the Navy and Navy Reserve within six months of retirement are eligible for membership with all rights pertaining thereto with the exception of competing on teams fielded by the Association (until their actual retirement is effective).

Associate: Persons not meeting the criteria of regular membership who share our goals and ideals may also join the Association if sponsored by one regular member. An Associate member’s acceptance is subject to the approval of the Executive Committee after subscribing to the following pledge. Associate members may not serve as Association officers or vote on Association business.

Honorary: The Executive Committee may grant Honorary membership to any person it feels should be so honored. Honorary members shall pay no dues, nor shall they serve as Association officers or vote on Association business.

The officers of the RNSA are:

President, Don Lassell,

East Coast Vice-President,

West Coast Vice-President,

Membership Secretary, Wallace Williams

Treasurer, Mark Lindsley,

(These five individuals , acting together, constitute the Executive Committee)

Historian, Robert Kasper,

Gazette Editor, H. J. “Walt” Walter,

Membership inquiries should be directed to RNSA_membership.  Notify the USNMT Webmaster if you need additional RNSA contact information to USNMT Webmaster.

The RNSA Historian needs your old match bulletins – click here for details

Fall 2008  Spring 2010 Spring 2012